Skip to content

Recommended Books

September 5, 2012

Occasionally I like to pass on books that others recommend regarding fitness, health and wellbeing. Here are four such titles:

 

THE SKINNY RULES: The Simple, Nonnegotiable Principles for Getting to Thin by Bob Harper

 

A friend and fellow writer suggested this title, saying he’s followed the list of 20 rules and lost 20 lbs in 30 days. He goes on to say:

I bought the book because it has 100 pages of recipes. I thought the recipes look easy to follow and sounded delicious. Fortunately, the ones I’ve tried so far have been. I eat more and more frequently than I was eating before… I’ve been happy with the food and the results, so I would highly recommend the book and the recipes.
Bob’s Skinny Shake:
• 1 cup Greek yogurt
• 1.5 cups of mixed berries and 12 ounces of almond milk or water
That’s one recipe–and that’s been my mid-morning power boost about 3 times a week.
I hope this info can help you help others. It works!

 

THE BEAUTY DETOX SOLUTION: Eat Your Way to Radiant Skin, Renewed Energy and the Body You’ve Always Wanted

by Kimberly Snyder

While my daughter found this book’s tone a little glitzy in that special L.A. celeb way, she said she found the suggestions within to be sensible. She also really liked  the author’s use of the science of food to make compelling arguments for why, or why not, to eat and drink certain things, especially in combination with other nutrients.

Here’s the PR blurb:

Nutritionist and beauty expert Kimberly Snyder helps dozens of A-list celebrities get red-carpet ready—and now you’re getting the star treatment. Kim used to struggle with coarse hair, breakouts and stubborn belly fat, until she traveled the world, learning age-old beauty secrets.

 

 

 

THE WILLPOWER INSTINCT: How Self-Control Works, Why It Matters and What You Can Do to Get More of It by Kelly McGonigal

One of my clients passed this book on to me. Like my daughter, I’m like books that appeal to my intellect rather than emotions, especially regarding such typically emotion-charged topics as willpower. If you want to know why you make the decisions you do — why you say no to some things, but fall to temptation when it comes to others — this book will tell you why.

Ms. McGonigal is a Stanford University psychologist who wrote the book based on her course titled “The Science of Willpower.”

And make no mistake, the science of self-control is fascinating stuff that when you see it, will allow you to forgive yourself, as well as give you strategies for making future decisions based on the brain you’ve got.

 

Happy working out!

 

From → Archive

3 Comments
  1. Ooh, these sound good, except for the Greek yogurt. I bought some from Costco and almost gagged. I guess the trick is to mix it with “something”. Thanks, Martha!

  2. hussein permalink

    for greek yogurt, just add it to your cereal or dessert, it is awesome

  3. Linda Ryan permalink

    The Bob Harper book is great Martha and has some terrific advice. Thanks for sharing!! And I agree, add greek yogurt to fruit or granola and it’s delicious. My go to breakfast.

Leave a comment